Heather Ridge Infant School


The Reception year is one of the most important in your child’s educational journey.

It is paramount to lay the foundations to become a life-long learner. We have an exciting and engaging curriculum that encourages children to become resourceful, inquisitive, communicative learners who will always ‘give it a go’ and love to challenge themselves and celebrate their successes.

The Early Years curriculum comprises of seven areas of learning that are statutory for schools to follow:


Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language

  • Personal, Social and Emotional

  • Physical Development


Specific Areas

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics 

  • Understanding of the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design


We plan experiences that allow children to explore and extend their understanding continually and use observations to inform further opportunities. All seven areas of learning are closely linked and interweave into one another.

We believe that by allowing the children to work in small groups, have whole class learning sessions and encouraging independent learning achieves maximum results. We have a free flow unit that allows children to access all indoor and outdoor environments on offer. As a school, we use Tapestry which allows staff to take photos/videos and make observations to inform the ‘Next Steps’ for children and endeavour to deepen thinking through questioning and reasoning skills.